Meetings Watch: Clovis Community College Board of Trustees

The Clovis Community College board of trustees took the following action at its Wednesday meeting:

  • The board approved an open meetings notice resolution, complying with New Mexico statutes requiring an annual resolution. The act also requires a calendar of meetings adopted annually. Regular meetings for the board are generally scheduled for 8 a.m. on the first Wednesday of each month at Room 512 of the college.
  • The board approved emeritus status for Larry Powell and Jacque Ochs. Faculty and administrators serving at the dean-division chair-director level are eligible for emeritus status after serving 20 years at CCC.

Emeritus status is an honor that expresses the institution's appreciation for distinguished service. Powell began employment at CCC in 1990 and retired as division chair of math and science in 2012. Ochs began employment at CCC in 1986 and retired as director of auxiliary services in 2012.

  • The board reviewed the St. Pat's racquetball tournament. The St. Pat's racquetball tournament is the longest running National Masters Racquetball Association sanctioned racquetball tournament in the state.

In the 24-year history of the tournament, CCC has averaged 60 players per year and has put more than $32,000 into the general scholarship fund. This year there were 50 players, with entry fees that added more than $1,800 to the general scholarship fund.

  • The board recognized employee service awards. Each year, employees who have served CCC in five-year increments are recognized and awarded service pins. The employees listed below reflect a combined 200 years of service to CCC.

Five years of service:

VK Bussen, developmental math instructor

Lauren Jerige, nursing instructor

Josue Lugaro, TRiO retention specialist

Stacey Richter, applications developer

Denise Shankle, nursing faculty office secretary

Mindy Watson, director of federal programs

Lora Wood Palmer, nursing instructor

15 years of service

April Chavez, director of financial aid

Sharon Crain, library technician

Tom Drake, vice president for administration and government relations

Gay Goettsch, employee services manager

Robin Jones, executive vice president

Sandy Jones, financial aid assistant

Cathy Pace, accountant III — accounts payable

Judith Spillane, director of extended learning

20 years of service

Jo Burns, admissions specialist

25 years of service

Rhonda Jesko, director of human resource services

— Compiled by CNJ staff writer Benna Sayyed

Speak Your Mind