Dozen area players named to all-state teams


Clovis senior Paige Gardner was one of 12 local players to receive first- or second-team selections on the New Mexico High School Coaches Association all-state teams.

Senior Paige Gardner, who led the Clovis Wildcats in scoring and rebounding, was named to the Class 5A all-state first team by the New Mexico High School Coaches Association.

State champion Volcano Vista, which knocked out Clovis in the semifinals and went on to claim its first title in school history, place guard Emma Fenske on the first team and teammates Schylar Malone and Laneah Bryan on the second team.

Texico twins Jordyn and Jaylyn Cooper, who helped Texico win two titles in three seasons, joined teammate Shaylee Anderson on the Class 2A first-team.

Jordyn Cooper scored 31 points in her final high school game, a 71-38 state title victory over sixth-seeded Navajo Pine. Jaylyn Cooper, who will be going to Eastern New Mexico University next season along with her sister, added 18 points in the blowout.

Another area state champion, Melrose, had three first-teamers of their own — sisters Caley and Cara Barnard and senior point guard Cassie Doherty.

Doherty scored 18 points to lead Melrose (27-3) to a 59-51 overtime win over second-seeded Tatum, despite playing the entire second half with four fouls.

Fort Sumner senior guard G.A. Tucker was also named to the second team.

While state champion Elida claimed three of the first-team slots in Class B, semifinalist Grady took two of the three remaining slots with Joni Lampley and Brenna Thomas. Corona senior Taylor Huey, who led the Cardinals to their first state title appearance, received the other first-team position. Mackenzee Starbuck of Grady and Jessica Taylor of Clovis Christian received second-team nods.

Class 5A

First team

Gina Okoye, Eldorado; Emma Fenske, Volcano Vista; Taylor Edmondson, Carlsbad; Paige Gardner, Clovis; Sarah Hattis, Rio Rancho Cleveland

Second team

Schylar Malone, Volcano Vista; Kassandra Harris, Cibola; Laneah Bryan, Volcano Vista; Daeshi McCants, Mayfield; Halle Woods, Hobbs.

Class 4A

First team

Teige Zeller, Grants; Michelle Traynham, Valencia; Darla Woody, Kirtland Central; Marika Trujillo, Roswell High; Lauren Quintana, Espanola Valley

Second team

Shanel Begay, Gallup; Sydney Mares, Grants; Kalen Henderson, Kirtland Central; Christina Yazzie, Piedra Vista; Arnetia Begay, Kirtland Central; Sam White, Del Norte; Minni Estrada, St. Pius.

Class 3A

First team

Mystika Perez, Lovington; Alexa Chavez, St. Michael's; Rachel Nakamura, Hope Christian; Macy Mitchell, Portales; Bridget Lee, Santa Fe Indian

Second team

Jamie Allen, LV Robertson; Marissa Perry, Hope Christian; Cheyenne Cordova, Pojoaque; Kelcie Carson, Hatch Valley; Cori Haley, Lovington.

Class 2A

First team

Jordyn Cooper, Texico; Jaylyn Cooper, Texico; Andrea Romero, Mora; Shaylee Anderson, Texico; Demitria Clichee, Navajo Pine

Second team

Heather Rogers, Navajo Prep; Keanda Chavez, Magdalena; Abigail Soto, Penasco; Marcella Sanchez, Penasco; Julia Martinez, Mesa Vista.

Class 1A

First team

Cassidy Doherty, Melrose;Caley Barnard, Melrose; Devanne Sours, Tatum; Jenna Jenkins, Cliff; Cara Barnard , Melrose

Second team

Monica Ramirez, Tatum; Kyra Laumbach, Springer; Shelby Walker, Des Moines; G.A. Tucker, Fort Sumner; Whitney Cordova, Logan.

Class B

First team

Kaylen Jasso, Elida; Hunter Haley, Elida; Taylor Huey, Corona; Joni Lampley, Grady; Marily Varela, Elida; Brenna Thomas, Grady

Second team

Shelly Gensler, Corona; Mackenzee Starbuck, Grady; Saige Bell, Corona; Allysanne Huey, Corona; Larisa Estrada, Reserve; Jessica Taylor, Clovis Christian.

Speak Your Mind