Hounds’ Aragon wins LSC javelin title

CNJ staff

ABILENE, Texas — Steven Aragon led a 1-3-6 finish in javelin to highlight Eastern New Mexico University men’s performances over the weekend in the Lone Star Conference track meet, hosted by Abilene Christian.

Abilene Christian captured men’s and women’s team titles in the six-school competition. The Wildcats have won the last 15 men’s conference titles in the sport and 23 of 25 overall in women’s competition.

ENMU finished sixth in both divisions, scoring 30 points in men’s competition and 23 on the women’s side.

Aragon, a sophomore from Los Lunas, threw a season-best 195-6 to give the Greyhounds their third LSC javelin title in the last four years. Zach Gerleve won the event in 2005 and 2006, then finished second last year.

Sophomore Robert Griego placed third with a season-best 182-3 for ENMU, while Texico freshman Justin Garrison was sixth with a season-best effort of 171-0. Javelin accounted for more than half of ENMU’s points (17).

ENMU’s women also earned three places in javelin, led by sophomore Deidra Brown with a season-best 137-4. Junior Hillaree Chavez was fifth (110-2) and Fort Sumner freshman Laurel Herrera sixth (103-6), both season bests.

Brown added a fifth-place finish in discus (a season-best 125-1), with Clovis freshman Lorena Garza (124-7) just behind her in sixth.

ENMU is waiting to see if it will qualify anyone for NCAA Division II national competition May 22-24 at Walnut Springs, Calif. Aragon, senior triple-jumper Kyle Harris and Brown (javelin) are potential qualifiers.