ENMU spikers tabbed for 13th

CNJ staff

RICHARDSON, Texas — Eastern New Mexico University’s volleyball team was chosen for last place this season in the Lone Star Conference’s new 13-team, one-conference format.

Voters in the preseason poll included LSC head coaches and sports information directors, plus members of the media.

West Texas A&M, which went 10-0 in the South Division and 34-4 overall en route to the NCAA Division II semifinals, was a solid choice to win the league title this year. The Lady Buffs notched 30 of 35 first-place votes and totaled 448 points to 391 for runnerup Abilene Christian, which had the other five votes.

ENMU struggled to a 6-27 record (1-9 South) in Mike Maguire’s final season as coach in 2006. Maguire, also the school’s athletic director, relinquished his coaching duties after 20 seasons at the helm and Kim Falkenhagen has been hired in his place.

The LSC, which has been split into divisions since 1997, has opted for a single-round-robin, 12-match conference format.

The regular-season title will be determined by conference matches, with each of the top two teams receiving trophies. The postseason tournament has been expanded from six to eight teams, and will be hosted Nov. 8-10 by the regular-season champion.

Team (1st-place votes) Pts.
1. West Texas A&M (30) 448
2. Abilene Christian (5) 391
3. Central Oklahoma 378
4. Cameron 318
5. Texas Woman’s 301
6. Tarleton State 288
7. Midwestern State 259
8. Texas A&M-Commerce 186
9. Southeastern Oklahoma 182
10. Texas A&M-Kingsville 166
11. Angelo State 106
12. Southwestern Oklahoma 94
13. Eastern New Mexico 68