ENMU athletes earn LSC academic honors

CNJ staff

RICHARDSON, Texas — Three baseball players and one softball player have been chosen to represent Eastern New Mexico University on the Lone Star Conference South Division all-academic teams.

The baseball players are junior third baseman Derrick Kennedy of San Antonio, sophomore pitcher-outfielder Seth Clabaugh of Portales and sophomore outfielder Clayton Young of Canyon, Texas. The softball squad includes senior right fielder Kelsey Kubik of Tucson, Ariz.

Elizabeth Hawkins, a senior outfielder from Sandpoint, Idaho, was chosen to the commissioner’s honor roll for softball.

To be eligible for LSC academic honors, student-athletes must have reached sophomore status and carry at least a 3.20 grade point average. All qualifying student-athletes not selected to the all-academic team are then named to the commissioner’s honor roll.

Kennedy, a history major, earned his second selection to the all-academic team. In 2007, he hit .311 with four homers and team-highs of 42 runs batted in and 14 multiple-RBI games.

Clabaugh, majoring in computer information systems, hit .306 for the season with a .436 on-base percentage while going 4-5 on the mound with 34 strikeouts and a 5.68 earned run average in a team-high 69 2/3 innings. He posted an eight-game hitting streak during the season, and fanned a career-high six batters over four innings in a game against Southeastern Oklahoma State.

Young, a math major, had a 19-game hitting streak en route to a team-best .392 average, a .478 on-base percentage and a team-high 18 multiple-hit games. His seven triples left him tied for second in that category in the conference.

Kubik, a health, physical education and recreation major, batted .325 with three homers and 31 RBIs in 2007, and her .408 on-base percentage was third on the team. Her .382 career average over two seasons at ENMU is the fourth-best in the program’s history for anyone with at least 200 at-bats.

Hawkins, a biochemistry major, scored 12 runs in her final season with the Zias. She has been named to the commissioner’s honor roll in each of the past two seasons.