Realtor awards presented

By CNJ staff

Annual awards were handed out and a new board of officers installed last week by the Clovis Board of Realtors.

The 2007 officers are: President Tammy Goodman, President-Elect Niki Harmon, and directors Bonnie Wright, Gayle Telshaw, Lonnie Mitchell, Maureen Burns and Marge Chalker.

Honored at its yearly banquet, held Thursday night at the Clovis Civic Center, were:

— American Spirit Award: Portales Mayor Orlando Ortega, for his support of real estate and home ownership in Roosevelt County, and for his part in the successful “Keep Cannon” campaign to keep the Air Force base open.

— Citizens of the Year: Habitat for Humanity Executive Director Joyce Davis and Taco Bell owner Tom Martin. Davis was honored for her work in getting homes built for low-income families in Clovis and Portales. Martin was chosen for reviving “Smoke on the Water,” the Fourth of July fireworks show in Clovis, and for supporting students through his firm’s “Tacos for A’s” program, rewarding youth who earned an A with a free taco.

— Realtor of the Year: Dawne Armstrong of Clovis Realty, who was the 2006 board president.