CNJ wins 14 awards

CNJ Staff

The Clovis News Journal captured 11 first-place honors and three second-place awards Saturday in the New Mexico Press Association contest.

Two other Freedom Newspapers of New Mexico, the Portales News-Tribune and Quay County Sun, earned four first-place awards as well.

First place for newspapers with under-10,000 circulation went to the Clovis News Journal for a series or continuing coverage, and supplements and special editions; Editor David Stevens in editorials; staff writer Marlena Hartz for news writing and feature writing; photographers Tony Bullocks for general news photo, Eric Kluth for feature photo, Andy DeLisle for photo series and Rick White for sports photo; Warren Thacker for black-and-white advertising and Angela Bowers for color advertising.

Second place for daily newspapers with under-10,000 circulation went to Stevens for columns; Dave Wagner for sports writing and Sharna Johnson for general news photo.

Portales News-Tribune Managing Editor Karl Terry won first-place for sports columns and Helena Rodriguez for Spanish columns in daily newspapers with less than 10,000 circulation.

Quay County Sun Associate Publisher Chelle Delaney and Interim Managing Editor Kevin Wilson took first place in series or continuing coverage and Ryn Gargulinski for columns for weeklies having under-5,000 circulation.