FNNM papers awarded

CNJ staff

The Texas Panhandle Press Association awarded seven plaques to the Clovis News Journal on Saturday for work published in 2004.

The CNJ earned first-place awards for feature writing, front-page layout and headline writing.

The paper received a second-place honor for news writing and third-place awards for editorial writing, sports photography and its lifestyles section.

Individual CNJ staffers honored by the press association include staff writers Mike Linn, Tova Fruchtman, Ryan Lengerich and David Irvin, photographer Eric Kluth, Managing Editor Rick White and Editor David Stevens
The PPA also gave two awards to the Portales News-Tribune — honorable mentions for page design and sports writing.

The Plainview Daily Herald won the general excellence award for daily papers. The CNJ won the general excellence award in 2002, 2003 and 2004.

Here are the individual CNJ and Portales News-Tribune award winners:

Feature stories: 1. Tova Fruchtman, Mike Linn, Ryan Lengerich, CNJ.

Front-page layout: 1. Rick White, CNJ; honorable mention: PNT staff.

Headline writing: 1. Rick White, CNJ.

News writing: 2. David Irvin, Lengerich, CNJ.

Editorial: 3. David Stevens, CNJ.

Society/Lifestyles: 3. Fruchtman, CNJ.

Sports photography: 3. Eric Kluth, White, CNJ.

Sports writing: Honorable mention: Dave Wagner, Kevin Wilson, PNT.