CNJ wins 19 awards in annual contest

The Associated Press

ALBUQUERQUE — The Clovis News Journal and several of its news and photography staff members received a total of 19 awards Saturday night at the New Mexico Associated Press Managing Editors annual banquet.
In the smaller-paper division, the Clovis News Journal won best-of-show for the second straight year, taking first place in sports writing, business writing, feature photo and photo essay.
CNJ Photographer Eric Kluth received six awards, including first place awards for feature photo and photo essay, second place awards for graphics illustration and spot news photo and honorable mentions for photo essay and feature photo.
Freedom Newspapers of New Mexico Editor David Stevens won two awards, a second place for editorial writing and a third place for column writing.
Projects Editor Rick White received first place and second place awards for sports newswriting, as well as third place for headlines.
FNNM News Editor Tony Farkas earned third place in the newspaper Web site competition.
Current Portales News Tribune managi ng editor Mike Linn received third place for business writing for a story he wrote for the Clovis News Journal.
CNJ Paginator Gwyn Del Toro won second and third place in the front page/section front category. She and her husband Armando Del Toro received second place for photo essay.
Staff writers Gary Mitchell, Claire Bushey and Kate Drost took second place in the continuing news coverage category. Staff writer Haley Rice won first place for business writing.
The Albuquerque Tribune and The Durango Herald also won top honors in their divisions Saturday at the New Mexico APME awards banquet.
Awards for excellence in news coverage for 2002 were presented in 17 categories and three circulation divisions for newspapers in New Mexico, as well as those along the border that receive the New Mexico state AP wire.
The Alamogordo Daily News received the annual Mark Twain award, given for outstanding member cooperation throughout the year. The paper was especially helpful in sharing news and photos from Holloman Air Force Base with other papers around the state.
In the largest circulation division, The Albuquerque Tribune won nine first-place awards, including spot news, continuing coverage, sports writing, Web site and headlines. The paper swept first-place in all photo categories: spot news, feature, sports and photo essay.
The Santa Fe New Mexican won first place in feature writing, columns, science writing and front page/section front design.
The Albuquerque Journal swept the top three awards in the investigative reporting category and also took top honors in business writing and graphics/illustrations. The Lubbock Avalanche-Journal won first place for editorial writing.
In the second-largest circulation division, The Durango Herald won numerous awards for its coverage of last year’s fires in that community. The paper took first place for spot news, columns, continuing coverage, science writing, business writing, headlines, graphics/illustrations and photo essay.
The Daily Times of Farmington won top awards for editorial writing, front page/section front design, spot news photo and Web site.
The Gallup Independent took three first-place awards, in investigative reporting, feature photo and sports photo. The Roswell Daily Record won for feature writing, and the Hobbs News-Sun took first place in sports writing.
The Carlsbad Current-Argus won first place for investigative reporting, front page/section front design and graphics/illustrations.
The Alamogordo Daily News won first place for feature writing, headlines and spot news photo. The Los Alamos Monitor took top honors for continuing coverage and science writing, while the Las Vegas Optic won for spot news coverage and columns.
The Silver City Daily Press and Independent won for editorial writing and Web site. The Daily Lobo won first place for sports photography.
The contest was judged by AP members in Alabama, and a point system was used to determine the best-of-show winners.