Runoff may be needed for Combest’s seat

By Jack King

The special election to replace U.S. Rep. Larry Combest, R-Lubbock, in Texas, seemed likely to go into a run off at press time Saturday.
Although there were clear leaders, none of the 17 candidates in the race had the “50 percent plus one vote” needed to win, according to the Texas Secretary of State’s Office. Under Texas law, if no candidate tops the 50 percent mark, a run-off is required between the top two vote getters.
With the Secretary of State’s office showing 99 percent of precincts reporting Saturday night — 205 of 207 counties in the district — Randy Neugebauer, a Republican land developer from Lubbock, was the top vote-getter in the race with 12,844 votes, or 22.3 percent. He was followed by Mike Conaway, a Republican certified public accountant from Midland, who had 12,211 votes, or 21.2 percent.
In both Bailey and Parmer counties, Neugebauer was the winner.
In Bailey County, he received 245 votes or 43 percent of the vote. In Parmer County, he got 285 votes or 47 percent of the vote.
In both counties, David Langston, a Republican attorney from Lubbock, was the next highest vote-getter. Langston got 121 votes or 21 percent of the vote, in Bailey County and 221 votes or 36 percent of the vote, in Parmer County.
In other races:

n Mayor’s race — Victor Leal ran unopposed, received 186 votes.
n Council seat, District No. 3 — winner: Earl Behrends, 79 votes;
Filemon Guzman, 25 votes;
Marianne Anzaldua, 10 votes.

n City of Bovina Alderman, three people elected for two-year terms:
John R. Blackwell, 109 votes;
Lance “Bubba” Teague, 81 votes;
Mike McCallum, 72 votes;
Radford Venable, 60 votes
Joe Olvera, 40 votes
Richard Bonham, 38 votes
Diane Heard, 25 votes
Bill Gist, 24 votes

Parmer County
n Farwell School Trustee Election:
Roberta Howard – 140 (elected)
Mike Woods – 140 (elected)
Randy Mitchell – 133 (elected)
Nancy Chasteen – 18

Farwell Hospital Board of Directors:
Jack Kirkland – 143 (elected)
Greg Atkinson – 142 (elected)
Mike Ratke – 140 (elected)
Tim Cooper – 139 (elected)
Tom Nichols – 138 (elected)
Nancy Chasteen – 24